Buck Owens: Live from Austin City Limits

Attention: open in a new window. PDFPrintE-mail

From the vaults of the award-winning PBS Austin City Limits TV show, this recording was made on October 23, 1988.Tune in on Thursday, August 13th at 7pm to hear the entire album!

Maybe it was an epiphany of sorts. As Buck tells it, "One day I was watching Austin City Limits and Dwight Yoakam was on, then he dedicates the program to Buck Owens. So I said, I'm going to see what this kid is like." It wasn't long after that he was on stage with Dwight singing his old hits. Buck was bitten by the bug to return to music, after calling it quits almost ten years earlier.

This man from Sherman, Texas probably best-known as the wide-grinning rubeon Hee Haw for so many years started a country music revolution. Or more accurately, a counter-revolution. It was called the Bakersfield Sound, He and fellow revolutionary Merle Haggard were cranking out raw, hard-driving honky-tonk music that stood the country-pop coming out of Nashville on its head. When Buck Owens and the Buckaroos would launch into I've got a tiger by the tails, it s plain to see...! the packed crowds would be on their feet and headed for the dance floor.


Track Listing

1 Act Naturally
2 Together Again
3 Love s Gonna Live Here
4 Crying Time
5 Tiger By The Tail
6 A-11
7 Hot Dog
8 Put Another Quarter In The Jukebox
9 Memphis
10 Under Your Spell Again with Dwight Yoakam
11 Johnny B. Goode